Business

Delete ‘after 24 hours viewing’ rule and how to change chat setting?


Snapchat serves different purposes to each of its users. Some may prefer to not let the sender know when they check their messages, while others choose to keep a certain chat until it disappears by default.

However, some users have noticed that the chat erase option ‘delete after 24 hours viewing’ has been automatically applied to their chats.

Confused users took to Twitter to ask each other if it was an update by the app. While Snapchat is yet to address this, let us show you how to change your settings in order to retain your chats for longer or to delete them before 24 hours.

Screenshot from Snapchat

What is the ‘delete after 24 hours’ option?

The ‘Delete Chats’ feature on Snapchat gives you two options.

Typically, a chat gets deleted after its opened and viewed by both users. But, by changing the erase rules, you can save the chat for 24 hours, after which it will get deleted.

Snapchat is designed to erase all unopened chats after 30 days.

The users can also save a certain chat by simply long-pressing it. Saved chats appear with a grey background.

How to change the chat settings

Say you’re having a hard time recollecting your shopping plans that you discussed with your friend a few hours ago, the ‘Delete after 24 hours’ option is tailor-made for people like you.

Here’s how you can change your chat setting:

  • Select a chat from your list that you would like to save.
  • Press and Hold until the settings option appears.
  • Select ‘Chat Settings’ followed by ‘Delete Chats’.
  • You will find two options for ‘When should Chats be deleted?’: After Viewing and 24 Hours after Viewing.
  • Select the second option to retain chats for 24 hours.

PLEASE NOTE: If you change from ’24 Hours Viweing’ to “After Viewing’, all your viewed chats will disappear immediately.

Barbarian | Official Trailer

BridTV

10602

Barbarian | Official Trailer

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Dr89pmKrqkI/hqdefault.jpg

1038922

1038922

center

13872

Users take to Twitter

Several Snapchat users are seen discussing the above feature on Twitter as it has been applied to their chats without their knowledge. So, don’t freak out if you see this option on your app as well.

You can simply change it by following the above steps. Meanwhile, here’s what Snapchat users have had to say.

“Snapchat deciding to make every chat delete after 24 hours was confusing me for a long time today,” said one.

Another tweeted: “I was tripping. I thought some how I change my Snapchat chat settings to delete after 24 hours. I come on Twitter and see everyone’s having that issue. Ummmm can we change this??”

Another tweet read: “Lmao now all Snapchat messages delete 24 hours after viewing. Snapchat will do that to be messy but not bring viewing peoples best friends back.”

“@Snapchat fix this mess about deleting my chats after viewing or 24 hours. LEAVE MY CHATS ALONE,” wrote an irritated user.

In other news, Stormi’s old video with Devin Booker goes viral amid Kendall Jenner breakup





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.