Has the World Cup been retained? Recent winners’ subsequent runs earlier than Qatar

Photo by Stefan Matzke – sampics/Corbis through Getty Images

France will look to observe within the footsteps of Brazil and Italy and be simply the third nation to ever retain the World Cup title when Qatar hosts the 2022 version of the Fifa competitors.

Has the World Cup ever been retained?

Brazil and Italy are the one international locations to ever beforehand win the World Cup in back-to-back tournaments. Uruguay hosted and gained the maiden version in 1930, however didn’t retain the title 4 years later as Italy welcomed the world earlier than edging Czechoslovakia within the ultimate.

Italy once more made the ultimate and gained 4 years later in France, overcoming Hungary earlier than a 44 yr await the Azzurri’s third of 4 successes. Brazil, in the meantime, gained three of the in-between eight editions, with titles in 1958, 1962 and 1970 – break up by England in 1966.

Photo by © Hulton-Deutsch Collection/CORBIS/Corbis through Getty Images

The Three Lions’ interrupting the Selecao’s run has additionally ensured no nation has gained back-to-back World Cups since 1962. The Netherlands (1974, ’78), West Germany (‘82, ’86, ‘90), Argentina (‘86, ’90) and Brazil (’94, ’98, 2002) have featured in successive finals, although.

The hilarious early takes on Postecoglou & Celtic they’re going to now be attempting to bury

Recent World Cup winners’ information at subsequent event

France will arrive in Qatar because the defending World Cup champions with Denmark, Peru and Australia in Group C. Les Bleus will goal higher fortunes than 2014 winners Germany had in 2018, as Die Mannschaft crashed out backside of Group F with three factors from 9.

SOCHI, RUSSIA – JUNE 23 : Timo Werner of Germany gestures in the course of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Group F match between Germany and Sweden on the Fisht Stadium in Sochi, Russia on June 23, 2018.

(Photo by Gokhan Balci/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images)

Spain additionally didn’t get out of the group stage because the defending champions in 2014, because the 2010 winners completed third in Group B behind the Netherlands and Chile. Italy, in the meantime, gained it in 2006, and adopted their success by ending the 2010 group stage final in Group A.

Brazil as 2002 champions had been the final World Cup winners to progress past the group stage within the following version. The Selecao reached the quarter-finals of the 2006 version in Germany, earlier than dropping 1-0 to France through a 57th-minute Thierry Henry objective in Frankfurt.

In different information, ‘I wished to depart’: £12m man explains why he wanted Tottenham exit

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.